Sniper

OK. So I said I was looking forward to watching the Sniper Trilogy I got a year-and-a-half ago, but did not sit down to do it until this week. I just didn’t want to see Tom Berenger get his finger cut off. I finally decided I was ready for it and liked the movies very much. They were different than I remembered. It’s been a long time since I saw them so I did not know what was going to happen. That was kind of nice. I often watch the same movies over and over and know what’s coming next so it’s a little boring.

When I have taken career aptitude tests, military has always come up as a job for me given my skills and interests. However, I don’t think I would have made a good soldier because I am a pacifist, don’t like peeing outdoors/in public, and have some health issues which I don’t think would do well with sleep deprivation. I’m too old to enter the military now. But, I really like watching action movies and am a pretty decent shot.

I ascribe to the Terminator II philosophy of injuring people but not killing them. The old King James Bible  says “thou shalt not kill” which I thought was pretty clear, cut and dry.  Since first writing this, I have learned that the newer translations say “you shall not murder.”  In some ways the two words are splitting hairs.  But, I think killing someone in self defense is different from maliciously seeking out to kill someone intentionally which is more what murder is.

I value my life but I am willing to die for others to save someone if necessary.  I know that soldiers are willing to die to protect the country and people they love.  I have a picture of a soldier with angel’s wings with the scripture from John 15:13: “Greater love hath no man than this, that a man lay down his life for his friends.”  If I am faced with someone committing violence against me, I’d probably just take it.  But when other people who are innocent or vulnerable are involved, I feel like I probably would try to protect them and would lay my life down for them.  I am not sure I would take a life to save a life but if it were for the greater good or if I were fighting what people would deem a “just” war (other peaceful means have been exhausted), I think I could reconcile myself to it. After all, in the Bible there were all kinds of battles and wars that God ordained.

I think that we should give people as much of a chance to come to God and live right as we can. When it comes to the death penalty, I think only God has the right to end someone’s life.  I think having to serve a life sentence thinking about what the person did to be there can be it’s own kind of torture and seems punishment enough to me.

If at all possible I think injuring is better than killing.  I think that if I were to actually use a gun on people, I would need to become really good and accurate so that I could injure without killing but cause enough damage to stop them from doing whatever bad thing they’re trying to do. That would require practice that I really don’t have the means to do. I guess every once and a while I go to arcades and have a little fun hitting targets that I can’t harm. I really do like blowing shit up at least at the arcades.

So, I think it’s time for me to take a brief sojourn to an arcade and get my inner soldier out. If you’re wondering if I were a soldier what kind I would be, I would be a Navy Seal that would enter from the Navy. After all, like Sam says on NCIS Los Angeles, “Seals are the best”.

My MOS would be sniper. After playing paintball, I realized I’m no good at running and hiding behind things. I do much better at long ranges from a secure location. But, I realized the danger of being a sniper, because when I finally got hit, it was a head shot. That kind of brought home the realization of what it was like, what soldiers must face,Dec. 2011-Mar. 2012 070 and the danger they put themselves into. It definitely increased my respect and appreciation for them.

4 thoughts on “Sniper

  1. I actually came in 2nd place on the sniper game I played that day. I asked the lady who was at the front counter if they reset the machines daily, but she said “No”. I guess my score makes sense, because I only missed once and got partial credit once. I got bulls eye for all my other shots. Arcades are the way to go for me.

  2. Okay, so you made me laugh out loud.It was the part about how you like “blowing up shit” that got to me. Actually, I like to go target shooting, and have more guns than a nice little old lady like me should admit to owning, but I’d REALLY like to blow shit up. You know, like with those exploding target? Wanta really feel bad ass? Target shoot with an AR-15. (Of course, the fact that I was laughing while I was shooting might have detracted a teensy bit from my bad-ass image)

    It was terrific meeting you today, Wendy. Thanks for visiting my blog. (I am duly impressed… LOTS of people say they’re gonna visit… but you actually did!)

    Count me in as your newest groupie. 🙂

    • I got the “I like to blow shit up” from the movie GI Jane. I’ve seen it a million times because I had a crush on Viggo Mortensen but I was also amazed how Demi Moore transformed herself into a bad ass for it.

Leave a Reply

